Psychology Is All Around

It\’s Not All In Your Head

Bad Example! No! No!

If I were the letter-writing sort, I would be firing off an angry letter to ABC and the writers of “Desperate Housewives” right this moment.

Unfortunately, I’m lazy. So I blog.

I missed Sunday’s episode of “Desperate Housewives” due to skating practice, so while I was in my office hours today I watched online. This was not long after a class lecture in which I addressed the issue of hypnosis and what it’s capable of. While assessing the class’ knowledge, I found that the majority believed that hypnosis can reliably enhance one’s memory of past events. I originally chalked this up to people not reading the textbook chapters like they’re supposed to before class. But after watching the new episode, I’m wondering just how many were influenced by seeing a near-impossible occurrence on the show.

Without giving away too many spoilers about the plot–HYPNOSIS WILL NOT RELIABLY HELP YOU REMEMBER PAST EVENTS. In fact, it can produce many errors. I hope that the writers of “Desperate Housewives” recognize this when they continue the storyline. No court would accept testimony based on recollections obtained through hypnosis. No way, no how.

So there’s still time for the writers to correct this egregious error, but I have to admit that I have little faith that they will actually do so. It just doesn’t make for good drama. Unfortunately, incorrect information does.

If Elizabeth Loftus were dead, she’d be spinning in her grave.

February 13, 2007 Posted by | Cognitive Psychology, Memory, States of Consciousness, Television | Leave a comment

Brain Cells Fire In Patterns

Did you happen to catch cognitive/evolutionary psychologist Steven Pinker on “The Colbert Report” last Wednesday? If you didn’t, here’s a link to the page where you can find the video:

Colbert Report interviews 

I love that the first thing Stephen Colbert comments on is Dr. Pinker’s hair. Anyone else ever notice that prominent male research psychologists tend to have big hair? Maybe my noticing is just a bit of confirmation bias on my part.

February 13, 2007 Posted by | Cognitive Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Television | Leave a comment